Marchwood 22.08.21

A very short walk, only a couple of miles, from Marchwood car park.

Marchwood is one of those car parks that we always drive past as I don’t think you can get much of a walk from there. It is surrounded by roads and the land shown at the bottom of the map is always boggy and muddy – so not terribly desirable for a walk. However, we had a great view of the Ipley crossroads:

It is January as I write this and work is well underway to stagger this crossroads as it has been the site of many accident – sadly too many people drive too fast across the forest. A shame really. I like the symmetry of the cross in this photo and I love the purple haze of the heather in the distance (no doubt it is a drab brown today, but the purple will be back again in August). I tried to take some close up shots of the heather in full bloom – it is surprisingly difficult to get a good shot on a phone.

Leave a comment